Ever wondered WTF is quinoa? Here’s the answer!

Nutty Alternatives

“What is this stuff? It sounds weird…” This is what I said a year ago when my trainer told me try it. I didn’t even know where to buy it, let alone what the stuff was. Plus, I was constantly mispronouncing it. (It’s pronounced: “KWIN-wah”) Fancy, huh!?

What is it?

Straight from Wikipedia: “Quinoa is a grain-like crop grown primarily for its edible seed. It is a pseudocereal rather than a true cereal, or grain, as it is not a member of the grass family. Quinoa is closely related to beets, spinach, and tumbleweeds.

Above is a picture of Quinoa growing. It is a seed not a grain, although cooks and tastes more grain-like than seed-like. It is known as the “little rice” of Peru.

Where do I buy it?

I have found quinoa to be at every grocery store I’ve been to, which includes Randalls, HEB, Whole Foods, Sprouts…

View original post 287 more words

Leave a Reply

