Remembering James Gandolfini + 5 Heart Tips

James Gandolfini, who famously played Tony Soprano, died yesterday at the age of 51 from a heart attack.  He was in Italy with his family for a film festival.

TMZ.com

TMZ.com

As a Jersey girl, I LOVED the Sopranos.  I used to get excited just hearing the theme song and watching him drive on the Jersey Turnpike because I recognized all the places on his route home.  Everything about the show held my attention.  It was funny and honest, brutal and sad.  Cast members looked like normal people and not Hollywood starlets.

Plus he had great lines like, “I wipe my ass with your feelings!”

He was a great actor and I’ll miss watching him perform.  His early death is also an unfortunate reminder to take care of your heart health.  Here are:

5 Tips to Prevent Heart Disease

(Souce:  Mayo Clinic – Heart Disease Prevention)

  1. Don’t smoke or use tobacco
  2. Exercise for 30 minutes a day
  3. Eat a heart-healthy diet (low in fat, cholesterol and salt and rich in fruits, vegetables and whole grains)
  4. Maintain a healthy weight
  5. Get regular health screenings (blood pressure, cholesterol and diabetes screenings)

Stay healthy.

Did you watch The Sopranos?  What’s your favorite Tony Soprano memory?

Lisa 😉

Sheslosingit.net (c) 2013 Lisa Traugott.  All rights reserved.  No portion of this blog, including any text, photographs, and artwork, may be reproduced or copied without written permission.

10 responses to “Remembering James Gandolfini + 5 Heart Tips

  1. I really liked James Gandolfini — but I always thought he was older than me. Turns out I am three years older than him! On the other hand, I had a stress test a few weeks ago and the cardiologist said I have “the heart of a 20-year old athlete.” Cycling does pay off!

  2. I loved the Sopranos too, as a NYer and someone who worked in Jersey for many years. So sad to hear of his passing. A great reminder to us all about heart disease.

Leave a comment